Christianity & Culture, Faith, Theology

Above the Valley Is Your Mountain!

imagesI recently read Psalm 23 for like the 100th time. We all know how the psalmist introduces God to us. I imagine the writer as somewhat emphatic, boastful and confident when he assures, “The Lord is My Shepherd.” Don’t you like this? He’s our Shepherd. That really encouraged me, blessed me and caused me to break out into a fit of praise. As my shepherd, God protects me from being prey to the ravaging pursuits of an enemy that prefers that I don’t succeed. God leads me by waters that quench thirsts that only He can satisfy. He even feeds me from the best pastures. God oversees every matter so that I lack no good thing. How amazing!

Then, I read verse 4 as if for the first time. I heard a resilience of David’s faith I hadn’t heard for my own personal challenges, and just then I got it. “ Even when walking through the dark valley of death I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me, guarding, guiding all the way.” (TLB)

It was a powerful moment. I heard clearly, “Preston, when you are in the dark and it seems there is no opportunity for overcoming life’s challenges remember to always look up. No matter the dreadfulness of the moment, above you is your mountain.” Of course, I had another round of praise.  Of a truth, I can’t count just how many times I have allowed myself not to walk with faith or look up to see what was waiting above the worst most humiliating of times. Have you been there? Then remember this. Right smack in the middle of trouble, temptation–any terrible situation, there is something corrective, altering, instructional and comforting about having the word, authority and leadership of our God and Shepherd (see verse 5). So, allow your trust in the faithfulness of God to help you see that above the darkest matters of the moment is a mountain God made for you to enjoy.  Let’s get over the experiences of our valleys and take our mountains. #TakethisMountain

Standard

Leave a comment